Day 21

Recap of today:  Unsure of what to do for breakfast, I found leftover zucchini and extra Rotel  in the refrigerator, so I threw those in a skillet, and when they were hot, scrambled them in two eggs.  Not bad! Lunch was a salad with fruit-sweetened cranberries, sunflower seeds, apples and Gamze’s dressing.  Dinner was fantastic!  I purchased thinly sliced beef and seasoned them overnight according to the recipe to make Paleo Skillet Beef Fajitas from http://ahealthylifeforme.com/paleo-skillet-beef-fajitas/.  The beef seasoning was key! I didn’t follow the recipe exactly on the veggies…I started the veggies in clarified butter and then put a lid on it and let them cook and caramelize without the added broth in the recipe.  When the veggies were tender, I added the beef back and stirred together.  I wasn’t sure what to put on the side, so I oven-roasted some cauliflower, but I made it “mexi-style.”  I sprinkled them with my extra bbq rub and my vegetable seasoning.  They were a perfect side dish with the avocado.  I could have eaten three plates full of this dinner! Big thumbs up for this one.

What was a success today?  As The Book says, planning is everything! I was in a rut, so last weekend I looked for recipes on the internet, made out a grocery list, and stuck with the plan.  It’s been a great week trying new recipes and staying on track.  The “newness” made the week of eating fly by.

Veggie Seasoning:  I keep a baggie of seasoning on hand for all my oven-roasted veggies.  It contains 1 cup of coarse sea salt, ¼ cup course black pepper, and ¼ cup garlic powder.  I use this on EVERYTHING.  It is a perfect seasoning!

#Whole30

Leave a Reply

