Day 20

Recap of today:  My jalapeno turkey burger with guacamole and a fried egg was a great breakfast.  I’ll write about lunch under SUCCESS! For dinner, I found another great recipe.  I made Balsamic and Basil Marinated Skirt Steak with Roasted Red Pepper Pesto from http://www.planksloveandguacamole.com/2015/01/balsamic-and-basil-marinated-steak-with.html with the refrigerator’s vegetable leftovers – zucchini, brussel sprouts, sweet potatoes and butternut squash shreds.  It was delish! In my picture, the pesto doesn’t look as yellow as the recipe’s picture, but that’s because I didn’t have pine nuts.  But, it was great without them! More like a salsa than a pesto, which we like.

What was a success today?  For lunch I found myself at a catered event with lasagna, butter bread, salad and a table full of desserts.  What to do? I asked for just the greens and veggies from the salad, then I put the bread’s marinara dipping sauce on the salad as “dressing.”  Viola – as Whole30 as I could get! Did the marinara have added sugar? Who knows, but I thought the choice in that situation was a success!  And, I passed up the “Everything Bundt Cake” minis, which are soooo good!

What was a challenge today?  I went to a training after lunch, and the salad with marinara topping didn’t last long.  My stomach was growling – loudly.  I was at the service center with only vending machines, but I found a healthy Whole30 choice! Peanuts with no added sugar.  I made it!

How am I feeling physically today?  Great! Mentally and physically.  Enjoyed my Zumba at the end of the day, too!

#Whole30

Leave a Reply

