Making Clarified Butter, Coconut Cream and Homemade Mayo

I made my first clarified butter.  Of all the times I’ve melted butter, I never really paid attention to the globs of dairy fat that floats to the top.  It was really pretty easy.  Lots of scooping from the top and bottom of dairy fats, then strain through cheesecloth and – Abracadabra! – clarified butter for cooking.

I also made coconut cream.  It really is as easy as The Book says.  Put a can of coconut milk in the fridge, then open and scoop out the cream.  What surprised me was HOW MUCH cream was in the milk.  Half the can was coconut cream.  I put it in a glass container and I’m ready to go.

Finally, I made my first homemade mayo.  I was surprised with the mayo, not having ever made it before.  Crazy how mayo forms as you drizzle the olive oil in the mixture.  It’s like Mayo Magic! Pretty cool!

2 thoughts on “Making Clarified Butter, Coconut Cream and Homemade Mayo

  1. i made my own clarified butter too a couple of times but then decided to just start using ghee. it saves a lot of time and that was worth it to me. have you tried ghee? you can get it at sprouts and whole foods but i’m not sure if you can get it at regular gocery. just wanted to tell you again how great you are doing!!! awesome job and congrats on your first week this week!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

