Day 3 – New Year’s Eve

Day 3 started with brunch.  We tried out the sugar-free turkey bacon, and both my husband and I thought it was delicious! The only problem is that it is expensive – about $0.62 per slice.  But, when you’re wanting bacon with your fried egg, this will do the trick.  I looked up the sugar-free bacon online from The Book, but my goodness the shipping costs are expensive! So, we’ll eat this sparingly.  We have to drive 35 miles to the “big city” to get it, so it definitely won’t be an everyday thing.

Also, I cooked the hashbrowns like my veggies.  I sprinkled them with some olive oil, seasoned them with salt, pepper and garlic powder (I keep a mixture of those three in a baggie for sprinkling veggies), and baked them on a cookie sheet in the over at 400 degrees until browned and crispy.  Wow! I was impressed with how good they were.

Yes, my egg broke – the the “perfect egg” from The Book – but it still tastes just as good! We also had leftover asparagus with brunch.

Since it was New Year’s Eve, we had my mother and some friends over.  We stuck to the Program! My husband grilled steaks and I baked brussel sprouts, sweet potato wedges, and zuchini circles on cookie sheets (sprinkled with olive oil and seasoning) in the oven.  I also reheated the cauliflower rice. It was an amazing meal! Our friends at up all the veggies, and their daughter commented to her mother, “Mom, I want you to make sweet potatoes like this.  I like them.” They even liked the brussel sprouts! Yay!

We stayed up until midnight, but we had no dessert, no sugar, no alcohol.  We stuck with it! Our late night snacks were tangerines, cashews and pistachio nuts.

#Whole30

 

 

Leave a Reply

