Day 2

Recap of today:  Good day today! For breakfast, I scrambled eggs with fresh cilantro and Rotel tomatoes with some blueberries on the side.  It was a tasty Tex-Mex treat.  Lunch was leftovers from yesterday’s lunch & dinner – beef stew and baked sweet potato wedges. Dinner was pecan-crusted pork tenderloin on baby arugula (pg. 252), cauliflower rice (pg. 272), and baked asparagus and brussel sprouts.

What was a success today?  Two successes!

  • The food was all great! I definitely don’t feel deprived. I was hungry between breakfast and lunch, but I ate a handful of cashews.  I wasn’t too sure about the tenderloin, but it tasted really good.  I substituted the walnuts for pecans, and the drizzled balsamic vinaigrette over the top made it tasty with the baby arugula.  The cauliflower rice wasn’t my favorite.  It was a lot of prep work (I only have a small food processor so I had to pulse a bunch of batches). I had to add more chicken broth than the recipe called for.  To me, the smell of it wasn’t appetizing, although I like baked cauliflower.  But, the good news – my husband liked it! His mother was Japanese American, so he is used to eating rice.  I had him switched over to brown rice before I started, but he said this was a great substitute since he can’t have his rice with Whole30.
  • He’s joining me! We keep talking about what I’m doing and why I’m doing it, and he wants to feel better, too. He’s having a hard time giving up the sugar-free gum.  He started chewing it when he quit smoking 3 or 4 years ago.  Today he said he had a piece.  But he’s aware that he shouldn’t be chewing it, so that’s a start, right?

 

What was a challenge today?  I’m fortunate that I cook a lot of whole foods already and have a stocked kitchen.  As I make recipes, there’s a lot of ingredients to mix together and a lot of steps.  I can see how someone who isn’t confident in the kitchen could feel overwhelmed.  Additionally, I can see how stocking up on all the ingredients for the recipes could be very expensive.  I’m lucky to have almost all the spices called for, but still, when I made my grocery list, I had a lot to get.

How am I feeling physically today?  I feel really good.  I noticed the week the kids were home for the holidays, I had made an assortment of cookies for them.  We were also eating more rolls/bread.  Every day I was taking ibuprofen because I felt achy and just kinda bleh.  I haven’t had that feeling at all.  I think it was all the extra sugar and carbs I was eating that I wasn’t used to eating that made me feel bad.  I learned something yesterday.  After dinner, since we’re staying up later, we had a snack of a banana and a few almonds.  About an hour later, I started getting that bladder pain and urgency.  I wasn’t sure if it was the tomatoes in the stew or the banana.  Today, I had stew leftovers for lunch, and it didn’t bother me a bit.  So, it was the banana.  My bladder just doesn’t do well with fruits, which is sad because I do like them.

How am I feeling mentally today?  I’m excited that my husband likes the food and this program seems very doable.  However, when I start back to work next week, I’ll need to be much more organized and do more prep work the day before, especially if I’m working out after work/before dinner.  I think starting a routine will be important.

Anything else interesting today?  My yoga CD came in! I purchased Tamal Dodge’s Hatha & Flow Yoga for Beginners.  I hope to start that in the mornings before work.  I haven’t been going to Zumba while on break, and I know that will make me feel even better when I start back to work next week.  Nothing like moving to music to make you happy!

Leave a Reply

