Day 1

Recap of today:  If I’m going public, I should be honest.  This is really Day 2 of Day 1.  Yep, I blew it on dinner my first day.  It started good, brunch of kale sautéed in garlic and olive oil then scrambled into eggs with raspberries and blueberries on the side.  Then, my husband suggested we go to the movies.  I made it through the movies without popcorn! A victory! Then, he suggested we eat at a favorite place – Zeke’s Fish and Chips.  We’ve been eating there since we started dating 35 years ago.  The food is great, but it’s fried…all of it.  All of the good stuff, anyway.  So, I said yes, knowing that I would have to start over again today. 😦  I did eat my fried fish, okra and eggplant without tartar sauce or ketchup.  I’ll take that as a small victory! 🙂

The good news? Today is good!

What was a success today?  I made a great brunch. (I’m off work on break and sleeping in, so I’ve been eating only two meals instead of my usual 3 on work days.)  I modified a recipe to create a shrimp frittata with oven baked sweet potato wedges and a salad of greens, avocado, cranberries, apples with Gamze’s salad dressing. (recipes below.) It was yummy!

And the biggest success?  Why making brunch, my husband suggested I might be going a bit overboard with all this.  But, while eating, he commented how good it was! Then, he said he was up all night with heart-burn from the fried food the night before.  I took this opportunity to explain (again) to him my goal to eat healthy and find out what foods bother me.  I told him the goal is to eat healthy, and try to make Whole30 a lifestyle change. But, when I go off the plan, I want to listen to my body and see how I feel.  He agreed his body was telling him fried food is not good for him.  Another victory!

What was a challenge today?  As I’m starting there are several.  First, I realize sugar is hidden EVERYWHERE! I tried finding sugar-free bacon all over town, and finally found sugar-free turkey bacon at Whole Foods.  Same with cranberries…finally found cranberries sweetened with real fruit juice instead of sugar at Whole Foods. (I love them in moderation in salads.) As I was making stew for tonight, and didn’t realize until I poured it in that there was sugar in the organic beef broth.  Really?? I had to pour it out and start over.  Reading labels is going to be super-important!

My biggest challenge will be breakfast.  I’m a “roll out of bed and eat a bowl of cereal” girl.  Not having milk or cereal is going to be my toughest meal of the day.  But, I’m trying some different things, like my kale and eggs yesterday and shrimp and eggs today, before I go back to work next week.

How am I feeling physically today?  Yesterday, I was hungry! Or my stomach was hungry. It kept growling after lunch, during the movie, and after dinner.  I must slay the beast!

How am I feeling mentally today?  I’m motivated! I can do this!

Anything else interesting today?  I started this blog! Not too shabby!

Recipes: 

  • Shrimp Frittata
  • 1 lb. peeled, cleaned shrimp, chopped
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 2 stalks green onion, chopped
  • 2 Tbsp. fresh parsley
  • 1 Tbsp. fresh cilantro
  • Lemon zest
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • 1/8 tsp. pepper
  • 3 sprinkles hot sauce

Mix ingredients together and pour into a heated, nonstick skillet sprinkled with olive oil.  Brown on one side then turn over.  (Mine crumbled when turning, but it’s all good.) Brown on the other side.

Gamze’s Salad Dressing

(My dressing isn’t near as good a Gamze’s.  Hers has something I call “Gamze-Magic” in it, but mine is still tasty.)

  • 1 part lemon, squeezed into a measuring cup
  • 2 parts EVOO, *see measurement below
  • Splash of good balsamic vinegar to your taste
  • salt and pepper to taste

*Whatever the measurement of the lemon juice, double it and add that much extra-virgin olive oil.  For instance, my lemon produced ¼ cup juice, so I added ½ cup extra-virgin olive oil, then a couple of shakes of balsamic vinegar.

3 thoughts on “Day 1

    1. I’m thinking the fajita meat and onions that I’ve been eating might be OK. As long as they’re not marinated in soy or sugar. They rice, beans and chips are all a no, though. 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

